OVERCOMING ADDICTION WEEK RECAP

All last week I was sharing on this topic that is near and dear to my heart!

I really struggled with addictions growing up. I’ve been sharing specifically about food addictions and how I overcame them with the GRACE and STRENGTH of the LORD.Here’s a RECAP of the different topics I shared last week and the video that goes with each topic if that one jumps out to you to watch or share.

CUT IF OFF!

I shared with you how when I was in my 20’s, I was SUPER TEMPTED to eat a WHOLE CAKE that my roommate brought home from work! I told the Lord, “You have to help me! Or I’m going to eat this whole thing!” He gave me the Scripture, Matthew 5:29, that when something causes you to sin, you cut it off.  I asked Him, “How do I do that with this cake?” and He answered to run out to the dumpster and throw the whole thing away. I did it!  With HIS strength and empowerment, I ran it out to the dumpster.  And that was ONE important step in the right direction of overcoming.If you missed that video, watch it HERE – – > https://youtu.be/SHFIsee-Q3Y

GET THE GOOD STUFF IN!

Our cells are STARVED for good nutrition, if we are living on the standard American diet, with junk food, candy, processed meats and breads, processed sugars and starches, etc. So one thing we can easily do is start to get MORE of the GOOD STUFF IN our daily diets. Then you won’t go grabbing AS MUCH or as often the junk food or be bingeing as often on the problematic “food”.

What IS the GOOD STUFF?

  • As MUCH fruits and veggies and greens as possible!
  • Non GMO or organic as much as possible
  • Good greens like romaine, spinach, swiss chard, kale, leafy greens (no iceberg lettuce – due to the pesticides they put on it – affects the illeocecal valve in the digestive tract for up to 3 days!)
  • Smoothies with a great protein powder – I like raw/vegan with greens and probiotics in it
  • Flax or chia seeds for extra omegas (brain health help) – good in the smoothies
  • Good oils – coconut oil or avocado oil (not Canola – research the harmful effects of…)

To watch this video with my convenient tips — > https://youtu.be/NTWoCo7Y1BI

ARE YOU WILLING?

How is the attitude of your heart? Are you willing to change and grow in this area? And if you’re not, are you willing to be made willing?  A mentor taught me that in the past.  At least if you’re not yet willing, tell the Lord you are willing to be made willing 🙂  And HE will get you THERE!  

That is the humble heart attitude necessary to OVERCOME ANYTHING right? If you have a hard heart, or an attitude that you can do it yourself, the Lord will basically sit back and “let you try” until you’re done with that rat wheel.  And wait for you to look up and say, “Ok, You’re turn.”  It’s funny, but it’s SO TRUE!  

THEN HE can start moving in SUPERNATURAL ways to get us over the wall, or around the wall, or THROUGH the WALL!  YES!  TRUE BREAKTHROUGH!

If you’re reading this, you’re probably already in a humble, ready to learn, place – so YAY YOU! 

If you’re feeling nudged to watch this video and topic, HERE ya go!  — >  https://youtu.be/FISVe2H_zNw

ADDITIVES THAT ARE ADDICTING

It’s IMPORTANT to be AWARE of additives that are put in our food, that draw us back to the same food over and over, and make it difficult to STOP! We all know about those potato chips that say, “No one can eat just one” right?  Why do you think that is?  Sadly, companies seem to LOVE to increase their profits by hooking people into their products using substances that should probably be outlawed, in fact, in other countries, they are!

I used to be able to eat a WHOLE GIANT BAG of chips, until I found out they had MSG and additives in them that make it VERY HARD TO STOP!

What can we do differently?  Ask Holy Spirit to help you REPLACE those addicting “foods”.  He’ll help you find something MUCH BETTER, and it will leave you more SATISFIED with nutrition.  The Lord PROMISES to give you WISDOM when you ask for it!

If you would like more details on this, HERE’S the video –> https://youtu.be/WCEwpNITKiA

CHANGING YOUR THOUGHTS

It’s TIME to FOCUS on changing your thoughts.  When we are STUCK in the same ole same ole patterns, it’s usually because we have trenches dug in our brains from believing the same ole same ole thing.  Now it’s time to re-train our brains with a new thought or belief! 

Instead of saying things like, “I really NEED this food or candy,” say or declare something like, “I really NEED good food that will satisfy me, and I’m WORTHY of it!”

There are so many great resource books on this if you need more: Switch on Your Brain by Caroline Leaf and Battlefield of the Mind by Joyce Meyer are two suggestions.

I’ve also opened a new group called Kingdom Mindset, where we will daily post a good healthy declaration to replace old negative ones in all categories.  You can click on this link if you’re interested in focusing on that in my FREE group –> https://www.facebook.com/groups/kingdommindsetdeclarations and “fly above the fray” with us!

And my video that goes with this topic is HERE –> https://youtu.be/8kCC2FW3vu0

SO NOW WHAT?I’m continuing to share what the Lord has shown me on this topic.  I’ll be sharing via Video on YouTube, via my Blogs, and Facebook.  You can follow along if this is a highlighted topic for you or someone you care about.  

BY THE WAY

ANOTHER THING that really helped me to break off addictions is FASTING.

Want to give your system a REST/ REBOOT/ RESET for 2021?  My 10 day challenge, Daniel type fast is a special group at a special OVER HALF OFF price THIS WEEK ONLY! YOU can join in and go at your own pace! There are 2 ways to join in:

👇 FLASH SALE!!! OPTION 1 – “SKIN IN THE GAME” I’M COMMITTED TO THIS THING👇:

$33 to join the challenge. NOW $15.00 THIS WEEK ONLY FLASH SALE!

There are encouraging videos to cheer you on, giving you tips, and some variations to work into your own personal plan that you want to do. 

PLUS we will have a NUTRITION EXPERT IN THE CHALLENGE GROUP! To help answer your personal/specific questions and support and cheer you on! ENJOY all the other info and videos on reseting and rebooting our systems in a natural and powerful supernatural way. There are 15 Units for you to work through at your OWN pace!

Let’s DO THIS!!! Let’s REBOOT our Holy Spirit systems!

Put any questions you have in the comments or reach out to me… Love you and bless you to do this with us and the Lord- your own version of it is fine!! 

👇 LINK to Sign up is below, and after signing up, you will receive the information for the Group Challenge!

https://py.pl/yj9q5

👇 OPTION 2 – FREEBIE GROUP 👇

Where you can follow along at your own pace, no pressure, no stress, just learn and grow in the right direction lol! 👇 Link for Freebie group 👇

https://www.facebook.com/groups/babystepstobetterme/

If you are not on Facebook and want an email version of the challenge, put your email in the comments and I will email you instead!

HERE’S A WAY TO BLESS OTHERS:

The OTHER cool thing we are doing is called “Fund My Massage!” We are blessing people with massage who cannot afford it. I have a Go Fund Me at this link – – > https://gf.me/u/zcpvdy

So if you are able to donate $10, or 20 or more, towards someone to receive a massage this season, please DO!

Every time we hit the $60 mark, I will pull a name of someone that was submitted, and bless them with a massage! My husband and I donated the first $20, and now we are already half way to the first goal of $60!

We’d LOVE to have you join in this way to bless people around us.

HAPPY NEW YEAR FILLED WITH LOVE AND BLESSINGS! 

SOARING ABOVE THE FRAY with Dr. Jen
Doctorate in Ministry
Natural health background with Massage and my experience and journey since 2009/2010
Addiction journey goes back to the 1980’s and 90’s

Leave a comment

Filed under Addiction, Baby steps to health, Mind, Soul

Leave a comment