Baby Step #5 ~ Eliminate/Reduce Processed Foods

IMG_1771

My friend was reminding me yesterday about processed foods.

You are really a “Level Up” when you stop eating heavily processed foods.  That means the “super convenient” things that come in a box, or frozen to microwave meals, fast food meals, etc.

If you’re going to continue having some dairy or meat for a while in your life, (which I don’t recommend) you can at least eliminate the worst processed versions of them.

Buy things with the fewest ingredients, the least amount of added hormones, antibiotics, etc. in them.

At least save yourself from the pains that those things cause.  Get the most “whole” and fresh version of it, unless you can make the time to prepare things yourself.

For me, the quickest food on earth is fruit.  And it digests the fastest, freeing up plenty of energy in my body to heal old problems and leave me with plenty of energy for my day!  Nothing beats fruit in my opinion!  Greens are in line right after that!  YOU ARE WORTH IT!  You are worth the time it takes to prepare a fresh smoothie, or eat a big salad with sweet fruity dressing on top!

In fairness, it took me a while to get off of these processed foods that I had grown up eating for quick meals.  But the more I became AWARE of them, and the better choices, the better it got over time.

Of course, be patient with yourself, and accept yourself today where you are at.  But continue to grow in your awareness of these topics, and you will want to make better choices for yourself in the future!

Books I recommend for more information:

Diary of a Raw Vegan, by me!  On sale for $2.99 right now
80/10/10 by Douglas Graham
Go Fruit Yourself by Freelee
The China Study by T. Colin Campbell
Books by Megan Elizabeth for Recipes and Lifestyle

5 Comments

Filed under Baby steps to health, Body, Mind, weight loss

5 responses to “Baby Step #5 ~ Eliminate/Reduce Processed Foods

  1. Great post – eliminating rid of processed foods is one of the best things we can do for our bodies and energy levels. I love fruit smoothies and green salads now – although I am struggle with non processed dressing options

  2. Everyone knows better but they are all stuck on these chemically addicted foods in jars and cans etc. When you tell people to just stick with raw foods mostly, they look at you like your crazy. It is a long journey but everyone can make it to the other side. Good post…

  3. Interesting post. I am not nor do I want to be a vegan, yet the premise of getting processed foods out of ones diet is a sound one. You have some awesome Ideas.

Leave a Reply

