45 – First Month as a Raw Vegan!

Come on over to the “fruity side” πŸ™‚

000first month raw vegan

Click on the picture above for my latest video on the first month of raw vegan!

I’m doing a six month trial as a raw vegan, just finishing my first month on the 80/10/10 raw vegan diet, and my weight is already down almost 10 pounds! Woo!

I’m already noticing the asthma, allergies from the Spring blooms everywhere, and arthritis are GONE. My digestion is happy and thanking me with no more constipation πŸ™‚

Gardening has begun! I have new flowers in the front pots, veggies and lettuce planted, and flowers on the roof.

Backyard flowers

As the lettuce springs up, I will move it to our new lettuce planters we are building in the back. They will look something like this… hopefully πŸ™‚

Tiered lettuce garden

Something Investigating:

I’ve learned that an apple a day can help dental health, especially of a raw/vegan person. As well as coconut oil for gum health.

From http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Do_apples_clean_teeth ~

Apples are a mildly acidic fruit. Because of their slightly astringent quality, they are an ideal food for cleansing and brightening teeth. The acidic nature of an apple is not enough to make a person’s teeth pearly white. The acid needs the help of the fiber-rich flesh of the apple.

Crunchy foods, including apples, celery, and carrots, act like mini toothbrushes when they are chewed. The crunchy bits actually help scrub away stubborn stains. This does not happen in a day but will take a while. The cleansing effect may be noticeable, even if it’s very slight, particularly if the apple eater is a coffee drinker who hadn’t been eating apples every day to begin with.

After eating an apple, it’s still important to brush your teeth. The apples still have sugar and acid in them which can damage the teeth. Leaving the sugar and acid on the teeth will reverse the benefits that eating an apple gave the teeth. Also, it’s a good idea to brush away the loosened plaque from the teeth so that it cannot become reattached to the teeth. If a tooth brush is not available after an apple, rinsing the apple down with some water may be the next best thing.

See this link on my Raw Jenni blog for awesome uses for Coconut oil.

2 Comments

Filed under 80/10/10 recipes, Body, Low fat raw vegan recipes, Raw food blog, Raw food journal, Raw food recipes, Vegan recipes

2 responses to “45 – First Month as a Raw Vegan!

  1. How exciting:) I did the raw food lifestyle for about three months. It was a lot of fun & challenging:) One of my favorites was the avocado/ date/ lemon pudding:) Not sure if you have gotten one yet but I suggest a very strong blender or food processor:) Happy Rawing:)

  2. I’m not sure exactly why but this blog is loading extremely slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a issue on my end? I’ll check back later on and see if the problem
    still exists.

Leave a Reply

