30 – Raw Corn Chips and Other Raw Substitutions

Instead of regular chips… Raw corn chips (recipe below)

I really am satisfied with this option now instead of regular (non-raw) corn chips or potato chips.  It’s tasty, and I really want to keep trying other flavors.

Corn chips when first removed from dehydrator:

Break them apart after removing from dehydrator:

Tasty corn chips with Avocado and sea salt

Recipe:

– 3 cups of corn (I use frozen organic sweet corn)

– 1 and 1/2 cup of yellow pepper (or other color)

– a little onion (1/4 cup or so)

– 3/4 cup of ground flax seeds

– 1 Tablespoon of lime juice

– 3 dashes of chili powder

– 1 teaspoon sea salt

Blend all ingredients in the food processor (I prefer the wider bottom for scooping it out, to the skinnier Vitamix for this)

Scoop out and spread on dehydrator trays.

Dehydrate at 105 degrees overnight, and until it’s the desired crispness you like.  I’m happy usually with about 20 hours in the dehydrator.

These chips stay fresh in a container on your counter for quite a while (at least a month, if not longer).

Other substitution goals I am learning about:

Kale has more iron than beef (according to a show I watched), so…

Instead of a burger – KALE (that’s a big switch!)

This last week or two, instead of burgers, I had chili.  So at least the glutenous bun was eliminated 🙂  I still ate the fries.

Instead of pizza – the only option I know of is raw pizza, with the crust made of nuts.  This is ok sometimes, and I could dehydrate it to warm it up a bit.  It’s a goal.

Desserts – figs, watermelon, grapes, smoothies and raw ice cream are all sweet enough now for me.  I think I can make the full switch over to this very soon.  There’s a few things in the house yet to eat up 🙂  Plus, my step-daughter has become a vegan, so she is baking up a storm of all kinds of treats.  So it may take a little while yet.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~.~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~.~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Some not-so-raw moments of the last week or so

Tried Indian cuisine… mango lassies…

Lentil wrap with potatoes and veggies inside, different chutneys (sauces) to add to it…

Indian version of chicken and rice (with lots o’ spice)…

From this to this in one day.  I surrendered and bundled up for the colder weather 😦

Let me know what substitutions you like for pizza and burgers and such!

Love,

Jen

1 Comment

Filed under Body, Raw food blog, Raw food recipes

One response to “30 – Raw Corn Chips and Other Raw Substitutions

  1. Patricia janke

    very informative and nice pictures; I enjoy Indian food, but mild

Leave a Reply

