5 – Raw Agave Nectar

Click on photo for video.

WEEK 5 – Raw Agave Nectar

Agave nectar is a natural sweetener from the Agave cactus plant, boasting a low glycemic index.

We used the raw agave nectar week 2 and 3 to make delicious desserts.  I wanted to make an extra note on agave nectar this week, because I do believe it deserves a week of its own.

The other day, my husband used raw agave nectar as a syrup on his gluten free waffle.  He felt it was just as sweet if not sweeter than regular syrup, but no sugar crash happened after eating it.  My mom and I also tried it on her silver-dollar pancakes, and really liked the smoothness and sweetness of it.

I also added raw agave nectar to my gluten free spaghetti sauce to sweeten it a bit, and bring down the level of spiciness.  I loved the sweetness.  It was just as good as adding brown sugar to my sauce.  This nectar is a nugget of goodness.  A friend of ours uses it in his coffee even, instead of sugar, so my mom and I tried that as well in the video.

This is such a great example of a baby step towards going raw, even if you are using it randomly and not on all raw items!  I give you permission to go for it!

2 Comments

Filed under Body, Raw food videos

2 responses to “5 – Raw Agave Nectar

  1. I will have to try this. Does whole foods carry it or do you order it?

  2. whole foods should have it and trader joes. i suggesst the raw one, versus the non-raw 🙂

Leave a Reply

